California's Deserts

California's 25,000 square miles of desert can be divided into two basic zones; the Mojave, or high desert, and the Colorado, or low desert. Each of these areas contains unique fauna and flora, as well as other natural resources that make them an important part of California's present and future. California's deserts are home to two National Parks (Death Valley and Joshua Tree), a National Reserve (East Mojave), and California's largest state park, Anza- Borrego.

More about California's Desert Resources

Desert Geography
Life in the Desert: Ecological Resources

Links to Explore

California Department of Parks and Recreation
State Vehicular Recreation Areas
Mojave Desert Ecosystem Project

| California Home | CERES | Natural Resources |